F’in Shopping…

Now don’t get me wrong – I like shopping, I like malls, hell I even like people! My problem starts when you throw a load of people who really like shopping in my way when I’m out to buy that one item I need – that seems to be the fast-track to Kill Bill Syndrome or KBS.

Take today for example – I needed to buy a power supply for a pretty obscure hardware router/firewall thing and to compound my feeling of warmth and love for my fellow humans I had to walk through one mall, a crowded street market, past a massive fashion mall (their definition not mine) before eventually reaching my destination – an I.T. mall (their definition – I think of it as the place where I.T. dies with the immortal words “No have!” but that is quite another story all-together) Now for many that sounds like “motorcycle taxi” time but I like the cardio… The first mall was a piece of cake – not too busy – so engage hi-speed walking and route-planning modes and before you can say “out the other side” I was – well – out the other side…

Next up the street market – this is a 3D pain in the hole – cables up high to garote the unwary, random people walking in slow motion, bollards and just to keep things fresh someone will be sat on a stool where I want to be walking – oh did I mention the eye level umbrellas? It’ a nightmare and that’s during the day – at night it’s worse!

I pass someone selling swords – no kidding – it’s tempting but I really need that PSU perhaps I’ll stop on the way back…

Finally get to Pantip “sexy movie” Plaza and in the style of a purchasing jedi – I walked past the shop I wanted first before returning 15 mins later and finding my treasure… Yay! No time for loitering in the after-glow of success – I don’t like shopping that much and there’s the additional amusement of the trek home – another KBS flashpoint if ever there was one!

